Giving Birth & Bouncing Back

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I wasn’t feeling (or looking!) my best a mere 8 weeks after giving birth to my son. Heck, 8 months later and I’m STILL NOT back to normal. I saw this article about Kristin Cavallari and couldn’t believe how awesome she looks only 8 weeks after giving birth to son Jaxon in May.

Why is it that some moms, especially celebrities, can look so amazing so soon after having a baby? Is it because they feel “pressured” due to the media? Maybe. Regardless, there’s no way I could have felt so amazing and looked so beautiful in so little time after having O.

It’s been just over 8 months since I gave birth and, although, a lot of the weight has come off (I gained a lot!) and my emotions and hormones are back in check, I still don’t feel like I did before I was pregnant. It will probably take at least another year for me to get the baby weight completely off (but I’m striving to lose more!), and I’m totally okay with that. Sure, I have days where I just wish the pounds would melt away or days when there isn’t enough makeup in the world to make me feel beautiful. But, again, it’s ok.

If you’re a mama struggling to get the weight off quickly after having a baby, take your time! Of course Kristin and other celebrities look and seem to feel beautiful, I’m sure they have their days where they would rather not leave the house – we all do! Plus, don’t even get me started on airbrushing (in magazines)! We all know they do it. Regardless of probably airbrushing on Mrs. Jay Cutler, she looks amazing.

Tell me about your struggle (or success!) in losing those pregnancy pounds in the comments below. I’d love to hear your story. If you feel more comfortable emailing me, please feel free to do that instead.

Stay healthy and fabulous, Mamas! -themidwestmama

One thought on “Giving Birth & Bouncing Back

  1. I’m sure you look amazing. Everyone’s different – or at least that’s what I say! I know breast feeding helps a lot to burn calories, as does getting outside – fresh air does a world of good! At the very end of the day, if Kristin isn’t blessed with it – she probably went through hell and back to get fit for the cameras. It may seem glamorous but in reality wouldn’t you rather take your time, enjoy your new baby and promote a healthy and positive attitude for all around you? Great post and so proud of you for thinking about leading a healthy lifestyle post baby. I would fail if only for Chicago Mix popcorn… no lie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

